Structure of ferroelectric silver niobate AgNbO3

Masatomo Yashima, Shota Matsuyama, Rikiya Sano, Mitsuru Itoh, Kenji Tsuda, Desheng Fu

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

123 Citations (Scopus)


Crystal structure of ferroelectric silver niobate AgNbO3 was determined (Pmc21) by convergent beam electron, electron, neutron, and synchrotron diffraction techniques and first-principles calculations. The atomic displacements along the c axis in Pmc21 AgNbO3 are responsible for the spontaneous polarization, ferroelectricity, and the paraelectric-ferroelectric phase transition.

Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)1643-1645
Number of pages3
JournalChemistry of Materials
Issue number7
Publication statusPublished - 2011 Apr 12


  • AgNbO
  • Rietveld
  • crystal structure
  • diffraction
  • ferroelectric
  • first principles
  • neutron
  • piezoelectric
  • polarization
  • silver niobate
  • synchrotron

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Chemistry(all)
  • Chemical Engineering(all)
  • Materials Chemistry


Dive into the research topics of 'Structure of ferroelectric silver niobate AgNbO3'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this